Devon Cafe

I am blessed to experience the many unique cafe style experiences Sydney has to offer. It’s calming, relaxing, cozy and I enjoy eating out with the sun as I rarely get to do so during the weekdays at work. Every now and then, I love to catch up with friends over good food and experience one cafe at a time. After seeing post after post on Instagram and people raving about this particular cafe to me, I decided to try it for myself.

So, off we go on an adventure. I went with a friend who I experienced university life with and even got the opportunity to graduate together. She’s special to me because we have similar values and were on the same road in starting work life out of university. However, it was the last time we would go on our cafe adventures together as she decided to go abroad for good. It was really lovely spending her last day in Sydney together: we explored many things from sunshine to dawn, we saw many things, and we even ate many things.

Before I keep rambling on and get side tracked, here is the story board of my experience at Devon Cafe. Enjoy!

After minutes of deciding what to order, we finally chose our two dishes to share. The crab pasta & the ultimate devon toastie.

Crab pasta.

Crab pasta.

What stood out for me with this dish was the freshness of this pasta. The moment I bit into this pasta and tasted it, I knew instantly it was made fresh with perfection. Everything about it was perfect, probably the best pasta I ever tasted. It had a great subtle taste about this dish, however there was no ‘wow’ factor about it either. Overall, it was a great dish and I would definitely want to eat it again.

Price: $25
Rating: 7/10

The Devon Ultimate Toastie.

The Devon Ultimate Toastie.

Wow, I did not imagine nor expect such delicious dish! I really loved the creativity with the flavours and different ingredients which really complemented well together to create a great dish. There were a combination of different types of mushrooms in there, cheese, egg and topped with seaweed.

The Devon Ultimate Toastie.

The Devon Ultimate Toastie.

Here is a close up of the inside. Yum.

Price: $25
Rating: 8.5/10

The cupcakes on the counter.

The cupcakes on the counter.

More sweets offered on the counter.

More sweets offered on the counter.

Macaroons.

Macaroons.

Looks good, just look at that splurge of chocolate.

Looks good, just look at that splurge of chocolate.

Don’t the sweets look so beautiful that you just want to buy it all and eat it all too? Unfortunately, I am not so much of a sweet tooth, but I am a very visual person and they look so amazing!

Definitely a cafe to try. Great location, just minutes away from Central station. Friendly atmosphere, friendly staff and unique delicious good. A letdown for me was that the service was a little slow, however I didn’t mind since my friend & I likes to talk. Another letdown was that I found it a little pricey, however given the portion size and quality of the food, it’s worth it.

Until next time,
Astrid

Devon Cafe on Urbanspoon

2 comments
  1. Derek said:

    The ultimate toastie actually topped with TRUFFLE not seaweed. It is truffle that make this toastie for flavoursome.

  2. OMGAAHH going there tomorrow 😀 yumyumyummooos

Leave a Reply

