Cherry Blossom Festival

Spring came early for me when I went to Auburn to visit the Cherry Blossom Festival. Made me feel nostalgic of the memories from Japan & Taiwan, but I am happy for Australia’s multicultural society that I am able to be surrounded by the beautiful Sakura trees once again. The beautiful Sakura petals snowing down so elegantly is a surreal feeling.

Where: The Cherry Blossom Festival
Website: http://www.auburn.nsw.gov.au/Welcome/whatson/Pages/Cherry%20Blossom%20Festival.aspx
Address: Chiswick Road, Auburn

Because Sakuras are so delicate & fragile, it’s full bloom only happens for a temporary period, usually for 1 or 2 weeks. This weekend was the last weekend of the Sakura festival, so I am lucky indeed to be able to witness my favourite tree & flower at its best – its show time for these Sakuras! Pink is my favourite colour if you didn’t know. 😉

So here are some of the highlights from the trip.

First stop: Food! The line to the takoyaki & sushi bar was too long, so we had this Russian dish instead. I forgot the name of this dish, haha.

Beautiful Sakura Tree. I want to grow one on my backyard, haha.

Beautiful Sakura Tree. I want to grow one on my backyard, haha.

Beautiful Sakura Tree near the entrance.

Beautiful Sakura Tree near the entrance.

The details of a Sakura flower.

The details of a Sakura flower.

The garden had other beautiful types of flowers as well.

The garden had other beautiful types of flowers as well.

Have you ever watched a duck trying to bathe and wash itself? It's quite amusing.

Have you ever watched a duck trying to bathe and wash itself? It’s quite amusing.

Although it's looking like 'Angry Bird' - I think it was trying to dry itself. Haha, so cute.

Although it’s looking like ‘Angry Bird’ – I think it was trying to dry itself. Haha, so cute.

Beautiful Camelia flower.

Beautiful Camelia flower.

These flowers are too cute for words.

These flowers are too cute for words.

Beautiful lake.

Beautiful lake.

More Sakura flowers.

More Sakura flowers.

Sakura flowers.

Sakura flowers.

So much love for these beauties.

So much love for these beauties.

Bumble bee.

Bumble bee.

Busy bumble bee on to the next flower!

Busy bumble bee on to the next flower!

These beautiful pink magnolia tree gave me a flashback on my childhood. Mulan Disney :) So last night, after I went home and before my sleep, I watched this awesome movie. :)

These beautiful pink magnolia tree gave me a flashback on my childhood. Mulan Disney 🙂 So last night, after I went home and before my sleep, I watched this awesome movie. 🙂

So pretty!

So pretty!

The lake was not only big & beautiful, but interactive. There were few paths where you can walk on to the other side using rocks as steps and these lovely wooden bridge.

The lake was not only big & beautiful, but interactive. There were few paths where you can walk on to the other side using rocks as steps and these lovely wooden bridge.

Interesting dangling flower.

Interesting dangling flower.

I see trees of green and pink Sakuras too. And I think to myself, what a wonderful world. 🙂

Keep smiling,

Astrid

Leave a Reply

